📅23 November 2012
Share this article:

PRESS RELEASE – The Championship Series matchup is set with the #2 AM-PCR Angels taking down the #3 Ipan Rays 12-1 Thursday night at Leo Palace Stadium.  A closer game then the final score showed, the score was only 3-1 heading into the bottom of the 4th before the Angels blew up for 9 runs and ending the Rays season with a 12-1 mercy rule win.

The Angels got on the board first against Rays starter Tony Yatar scoring two unearned runs in the bottom of the 1st with Coby Barnes providing an rbi single after Ryan Martinez lead off reaching on an error and Jathan Muna-Barnes reached on a fielder’s choice.  Errors would plague the Rays all night with 6 total errors leading to 7 unearned runs in the ballgame. The Angels would add another unearned run in the 2nd inning to take a 3-0 lead through two innings.

The Rays would get a run off of Angel’s starter Brandon Fernandez in the top of the third inning with Ray’s Tony Doyle reaching on an error and coming in to score on a Roman Duenas rbi sac fly cutting the Angel’s lead to 3-1 after 3 innings.

The  Angel’s bats would wake up in the 4th inning with  Coby Barnes again leading off the inning with a single and come around to score on a rbi single from Christian Borja.  Chad Fernandez and Ryan Martinez would add rbi hits before the Rays pitching would walk in two runs with the bases loaded to cap a 9 run rally for the Angels.

That was all the Angels pitchers would need as starter Brandon Fernandez would finish with 4 strong innings allowing 0 earned runs and only 2 hits while striking out 7.  Reliever Sean Cruz would close out the Rays in the 5th inning as the Angels took the game 12-1 with the 5 inning mercy rule.

Coby Barnes was 2 for 2 with a run and rbi to lead the offense and Fernandez picks up the win for the Angels.  Tony Yatar gets the loss for the Rays who had only two hits on offense.  The Rays finished a successful 2012 Leo Palace Baseball League but didn’t come with their best game against a formidable Angel’s teams.

The Angels advance to the best of three AAA Championship Series with the #5 Philip and Son’s Phillies.  Game #1 is Friday night 7pm at Leo Palace Stadium with game #2 Sunday night at 6pm.  Game #3 if needed will be December 4th.

Winning Pitcher- Brandon Fernandez; Losing Pitcher- Tony Yatar

[fbshare url=” ” type=”button”][fblike url=” ” style=”standard” showfaces=”false” width=”450″ verb=”like” font=”arial”]

Share this article: