📅13 November 2012
Share this article:

Rebels win first game of playoffs eliminating AF Reserves

The Leo Palace Baseball League AAA Playoff Tournament kicked off Sunday afternoon with the #6 Merizo Rebels (2-7) and #7 seed Air Force Reserves (0-7) battling to advance in the single elimination playoffs.  The Rebels would jump out early with 5 runs in the bottom of the 1st inning and cruise to a 13-3 mercy rule game to advance to the next round of the playoffs.

The Rebels picked up their only win of the regular season with a 5-3 win over Air Force Reserves earlier in the season.  The Rebels would put runs on the board early taking advantage of 3 AF Reserve errors in the 1st inning and a 2 rbi single by Justin Elm to take a 5-0 lead.  The Rebels would add another 2 runs in the 2nd inning with singles by Jess San Nicolas and Peter Guerrero pacing the offense to a 7-0 lead.

Rebel’s starter kept the Air Force Reserve offense at bay allowing only two runs in 4-1/3 innings of work.  AF Reserves would push a run across in the 3rd inning with Jesse Bamba providing a rbi single .  Bamba would come through again in the 5th inning with a 2 rbi single cutting the Rebel’s lead to 8-3.

The Rebels would break the game open in the bottom of the 5th inning with back to back doubles by Brandon Bamba and Jess San Nicolas capping a 4 run rally.  The Rebels would end the game via the 10 run mercy rule in the 6th inning with Eric Lizama providing a bases loaded single to give the Rebels the 13-3 win.

Air Force Reserves starting pitcher Jesse Lujan picks up the loss going 5 strong innings allowing only 5 earned runs with his defense committing 7 errors.  Rebel’s starter Justin Elm earns the win and Jess San Nicolas ignited the Rebels offense going 4 for 4 at the plate with a double, triple and 3 stolen bases.

The Merizo Rebels advance to play the #3 seed Ipan Rays this coming Wednesday Nov. 14 7pm at Leo Palace Resort.

Winning Pitcher- Justin Elm        Losing Pitcher- Jesse Lujan


Phillies advance to play Yigolos with win over Rangers

The Sunday night cap at Leo Palace stadium featured the #4 seed Talofofo Rangers and #5 seed Philip & Son’s Phillies squaring off in the first round of the AAA Division Playoff Tournament.  The Rangers had beat the Phillies in a close 3-2 regular season matchup and the Phillies would win when it mattered most…the playoffs.  The Phillies would take advantage of a solid pitching performance from starter Shane McDonald and break open a 2-2 tie in the 4th inning to upset the Rangers 10-3 although the game was much closer than the final score.

The Rangers and Phillies would go into the 4th inning tied at 2-2 with Phillies starter Shane McDonald and Rangers starter Frankie De la Cruz locked in a good pitchers duel.  The Phillies would get on the board in the bottom of the 4th inning with lead off singles from Mike Aguon and JD San Nicolas pacing the offense. They would add another two runs in the 5th inning off a lead off double by Miller Santos and rbi single again by Mike Aguon leading the way.

The Rangers would answer in the top of the 6th inning with RJ Cruz singling and coming in to score on a throwing error to cut the Phillies lead to 6-3.  But the Phillies offense would stay hot scoring a run in the bottom of the 6th with a rbi single from Jared Alerta.  They would add 3 more insurance runs in the 7th inning with rbi singles from JD San Nicolas and TC Cruz.

Phillies reliever Luis San Nicolas would retire the Rangers in order to close out the game and the win for the Phillies.  Shane McDonald picks up the win  going 6 innings allowing 3 earned runs and only 4 hits.  Jared Alerta, Miller Santos, Mike Aguon and JD San Nicolas all had two hits for the Phillies who pounded out 12 hits as a team.  Ranger’s starter Frankie De la Cruz goes the distance, working 7 innings allowing 8 earned runs and 12 hits and RJ Cruz was 1 for 1 with a sac fly, walk, run, rbi and two stolen bases for the Rangers in the loss.

The Phillies advance to the 2nd round of the playoffs to take on #1 seed Yigolos this coming Saturday Nov 17 6pm at Leo Palace Stadium.

Winning Pitcher- Shane McDonald        Losing Pitcher- Frankie De la Cruz

Share this article: