📅12 August 2013
Share this article:


By Regina Shiroma

GNYFF logoAs the pros gear up for their NFL season and the high school kids prepare for their IIAAG football league, kids as young as five and fourteen years-old practice for what they had been waiting for all summer long, the Guam National Youth Football Federation league. The football fever, reaching even the little ones, has them jumping for joy at the thought of the upcoming season. The GNYFF 2013 season welcomes back all eight teams from last year: the Angels, Cowboys, Eagles, Falcons, Giants, Jets, Raiders, and the Saints. Aside from the two fields used last season, UOG field and Eagle field, two more fields, Angel field and Raider field, will be utilized this season as well.

Damon Hocog was too late to stop Brendan Santos  who tiptoed his way into the end zone. (photo by Errol Alegre, Jr.)

Damon Hocog was too late to stop Brendan Santos who tiptoed his way into the end zone. (GSPN file photo)

Here’s a look at each division and some history from seasons before:

Matua 14 and under:

Last season, the LMS Hal’s Angels took home the championship trophy after defeating the Hensel Phelps Granite Giants 30-8. After winning the championship in the league’s first year back in 2009, the Angels were unable to snag the championship until the 2012 season three years later. Despite the loss, the Giants proved themselves worthy of being competitive in the Matua division, as most of the players had just moved up from the Metgot division, where they were back-to-back champions in the years prior.

Metgot 12 and under:

With the back-to-back champions of the Metgot division moving up, the championship title was up for grabs and it was anyone’s game. In 2012, the kids of the black and silver made their Raider nation proud when they claimed the championship trophy for its first title in the Metgot division, shutting out the Cinnabon Island Saints 28-0 in the finals. The Raiders had been a dominating force all season, as their defense only allowed 24 points all season, which was the least amount allowed by any team.

Raiders' Xavier Naputi jukes away from Saints' defender Deaundre Barcinas. (photo by Errol Alegre, Jr.)

Raiders’ Xavier Naputi jukes away from Saints’ defender Deaundre Barcinas. (GSPN file photo)

Manha 9 and under:

The Jets were back-to-back champions in 2010 and 2011, but it was the Angels who claimed the title defeating the Saints in 41-32 in last season’s championship game. The Angels look to defend their title, as key players are returning and new players continue to practice hard.

Mandikiki 5 and 6 years-old

The Angels won back-to-back titles after slipping past the Giants in last season’s championship match. The Giants nearly took home the win, but a touchdown in the last second gave the Angels the victory. Though the Mandkiki play flag football, the kids are just as enthusiastic and feel great joy from pulling the flags just as much as the older players get a thrill out of full-on tackling.

Team Notes

The Angel’s nearly swept titles last season, claiming titles in three out of the four divisions.

Giants' Joseph Sanchez attempts to jump over the tackles of Falcons' Cris Naputi and Richard Quichocho. (photo by Errol Alegre, Jr.)

Giants’ Joseph Sanchez attempts to jump over the tackles of Falcons’ Cris Naputi and Richard Quichocho. (GSPN file photo)

The Saints and the Giants continue to improve their level of play, as both organizations made it to two of the final’s games.

Although only making it to one of the championship games, the Raiders capped of their season with a win. And though only one division made it, the Metgot division still felt the support of its team’s parents from each division.

The Falcons won its first championship in 2010 in the Matua division and continue to work hard to grab that title once again.

Although the Jets had more losses than wins in the Matua division, they held their heads high displaying sportsmanship and respect to each team, coach, and referee. Because of their exceptional attitude, they were presented with the sportsmanship award in their division. In the 2012 season, the Jets cheerleaders took first place in the cheerleading competition.

Though a title has eluded the Cowboys, they still play their hearts our on the field. The Cowboys are also the only team to consistently play in the youth football leagues since the 80’s.

The Eagles are the oldest youth football team in the books and hold the longest winning streak on the island. The Eagles have yet to win a championship, but through their hard work they aim to make their way to the top.

The season begins on August 17; an online version of the schedule can be found at

[fbshare url=” 31181″ type=”button”] [fblike url=” 31181″ style=”standard” showfaces=”false” width=”450″ verb=”like” font=”arial”]


Share this article: