📅14 July 2014
Share this article:

By Robert Balajadia

Classes started falling during the second day of the single elimination playoffs in the annual FD Alumni Basketball Tournament with the night ending in dramatic fashion as 2009 knocked off the power house class of 2002/03 with a last second shot while 2008 gave the host Class 2004 a run for their money.

2009 – 50, 2002/03 – 49

Goro Borja only scored three points, but his three pointer as time expired was the biggest of the game to send home Jimmy Yi, Sean Perez, Vince Estella, who were the first team to beat the five time defending champion Class of 2006 in three years during pool play.

09’s Dom Sablan carried ’09 scoring 23 points while making clutch decisions down the stretch.

Sablan had missed free throws trailing 47-48 while 2009 fouled Yi to stop the clock. Yi hit both free throws to give his class the lead until Sablan made a heads up play finding Borja open in the corner off a broken play as Broja let loose from deep hitting the game winner as time expired.

Perez had 27 points in the loss and Yi finished with 16. Steven Gatewood had 15 points for 2009 to round out the top scorers

2004 – 56, 2008 – 50

The tournament hosts were given a late game scare as the gritty Class of 2008 shook off a double-digit lead to get within a single possession with under a minute left in the game.

’08’s Chris Carbullido took a rebound trailing 50-45 with under a minute left and got a smart pick in transition from teammate Nick Camacho while pulling up from the right wing to knock down the big three-point shot pulling within 50-48.

'08's Chris Carbullido hits a three pointer in transition. (photo by Eileen H. Balajadia)

’08’s Chris Carbullido pulls up to hit a three pointer in transition. (photo by Eileen H. Balajadia)

After another defensive stand, Carbullido set up shop in the same corner, but a from longer, trying to replicate his success though the shot sailed allowing 2004 to send their star Willie Stinnett to the free throw line to close out the game.

Stinnett had 28 points, 16 from the free throw line, while getting a big lift from shooter Ricky Hernandez who finished with 12.

Other Playoff Action

1975 – 31, 1988 – 22

2007 – 60, 1995 – 51

2011 – 52, 2005 – 40

2013 – 32, 1999 – 21

85/86/87 – 28, 1992 – 25

1965 – 58, 1996/97 – 57 (’65 conceded the game after given a 30-point lead to start the game)



Class of ’65 won the game but conceded defeat giving 2000/01 the win. (photo by Robert Balajadia)


’08’s Christian Cristobal is challenged by ’04’s Will Stinnett on the layup. (photo by Eileen H. Balajadia)


’08’s Chrit Calvo rips the ball away on defense. (photo by Eileen H. Balajadia)


Creame Team’s Ferlito Peroy blocks ’92’s Steve Pangelinan on shot attempt. (photo by Robert Balajadia)

Share this article: