📅05 December 2012
Share this article:

PRESS RELEASE – The Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation held the final round of the Monster Energy Offroad Monsoon Series this past Sunday. It was also the last scheduled event for the year 2012 at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo for GIRMAC.

Tim Wenden took the final round win during the Monster Energy Offroad Monsoon Series. (courtesy photo)

2012 was a year that saw another fantastic Shell V-Power Smoikin Wheels Weekend which had drawn international racers and huge crowds to the raceway. It was also a year with an action packed twelve round Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships which had crowned respective class champions with events held not only in Yigo but also in Umatac and Malojloj as part of those villages village fiesta celebrations. Capping the 2012 year off was the six round Monster Energy Offroad Monsoon Series that held not only motocross events but also grueling endurance events on extended courses that were tough on both riders and machines.

The final event of the year round 6 of the series saw the Monster 1.5 Enduro for both the Open Atv and Open Motorcycles classes. The course for the Monster 1.5 was long, tough, and a lot of fun according to those who had participated. The course took riders from through the motocross course onto the Shell V-Power Smokin Wheels Offroad course into tight jungle trails that led to the 4×4 Obstacle course. Each rider had an hour and a half to complete as many loops around the long course as possible on his or her machine.


In the Open Motorcycle class #31 Tim Wenden on the Rocky Mountain Precast Honda was out front from lap one with #42 JR Cepeda the Johnstone Supplies Kawasaki rider shadowing his every move . Running in third was #3 Jacob Einloth with #98 Marshal Vawter Jr in fourth. Wenden and Cepeda quickly made it a two man battle up front for the lead. The two front runners stayed close with Cepeda nearly taking the lead several times during the grueling hour and half race. Wenden took the ound win with Cepeda second, Einloth thirs and Vawter Jr in fourth. Cepeda’s second place finish was all he needed to clinch the the series overall title win with 235 points over Vawter Jr who took second in the series with 232 points.

James Cepeda through great racing and determination notches yet another Open Motorcycles class title. (courtesy photo)

In the Open Atv class Yamaha mounted #99 Ray Aromin took an early lead in the hour and half event with several fast riders in hot pursuit that included respectively #59 Ryan Castro on a Yamaha, #81 Pete Castro Yamaha mounted, #9 Ray Manibusan on a Yamaha, #1 Robert Bucek aboard a Suzuki, and #33 James Gumabon also on a Yamaha. On the second lap Ryan astro rode his #59 machine into the lead with #81 Pete Castro moving himself up into second. By the forty five minutes or the halfway point of the race the Cycles Plus Suzuki of Bucek had taken the lead from the Castro’s with Ryan falling back to second and Pete holding onto third. With just fifteen minutes left in the race Bucek had pulled off the course in the 4×4 Obstacle section with a machine that would not restart. Bucek’s poor luck gave Pete Castro the lead and with Bucek able to splash some gas into his empty fuel tank and keep at least the second place position on the same lap as Castro the leader, the race was on. Bucek poured on the throttle in an effort to reel in the leader for several laps but ran just out of time. Pete Castro took the #81 Yamaha to the Monster 1.5 overall win with Bucek taking second. Third went to #99 Ray Aromin with fourth through sixth being taken by respectively #9 Ray Manibusan, #59 Ryan Castro, and #33 James Gumabon. Bucek with his second place finish takes the Open Atv class series title with 144 points over #99 Ray Aromin with 109 points and Pete Castro with 100 points.

In the Kids Mini bike class #7 Stoney Bucek aboard a Cycles Plus Kawasaki took the round win but it was #29 Yamaha mounted Ethan Camacho who took the series title with 203 points over Stoney Bucek s 189 points. #88 Ry’niko Camacho took third with 168 points. New comer Sasha Song placed fourth with 78 points.

In the Kids Mini Atv class #23 Jordan Leon Guerrero on a DRX took the win along with the series class title over his brother #75 Jesse Leon Guerrero on a DRX with Tori Clark placing third on a Rocky Mountain Precast Apex.

Up next will an event in support of Guam’s best the Guam Army National Guard  scheduled for Sunday January 13th. The Monster Energy Guam National Guard Motocross will be a 1 hour Enduro for the big bikes and big atv classes and for the kids mini classes two heat motocross. Trophies awarded at the end of the days events.. Gates open at 9am at the Guam International Raceway Rt15 Yigo with racing scheduled to start at 1pm with a full day of off road racing. For more information contact GRF PIO at 727-5381 or visit . Special thanks to Cycles Plus, Kawasaki, Honda, Suzuki, GTR Motorsports, Bobcat Guam and Monster Energy.

[fbshare url=”…ishes-strong-2/ ‎” type=”button”][fblike url=”…ishes-strong-2/ ‎” style=”standard” showfaces=”false” width=”450″ verb=”like” font=”arial”]

Share this article: