📅28 August 2012
Share this article:

PRESS RELEASE – On Sunday at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo championship hopefuls along with those racers hoping to possibly win the final round of the 2012 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships lined up for what was to be an action packed day of motocross, barbeque, and celebrations.

Round 12 Open AtTV class winner #9 Ramon Torres. (courtesy photo)

After a long challenging series that began back in February with championship series rounds held at the Guam International Raceway rounds were also held in Umatac during that southern villages Discovery Day fiesta celebration along with in the southern village of Malojloj Inarajan for the San Isidro fiesta. Rain or shine the racer’s during this years Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships were always game for some close hard elbow throwing action packed bar banging motocross regardless of what the conditions Mother Nature had in store for them.

Shell V-Power Holeshot Recipients
Taking the Shell V-Power Holeshot award in the Open Motorcycle class was once again  #31 Tim Wenden on his Honda Crf450. In the Open Atv class #43 Andy Painter bolted out to the front to take the award aboard a Suzuki Ltr450. #6 Collin Ray Cruz took the Shell V-Power award for the Kids Mini Atv class on his Drx 90 with #14 Andrew Ignacio receiving the award in the Kids Mini Bike class on his Yamaha Yz85.

In heat one of two #31 Tim Wenden for the fourth time in a row aboard a Honda shot out to an early lead in the premier Open Motorcycle class. Wenden aboard his Honda was untouchable pulling away up front for nearly fifteen of the seventeen laps before lady luck stepped in once again this time blessing the New Zealander with a flat rear tire. Running in second was Yamaha mounted #915 Anthony Ignacio with #42 JR Cepeda in third battling with Ignacio for position. Ignacio after breaking away from Cepeda suddenly came to a stop with a locked up motor ending his day. Wenden’s and Ignacio’s poor luck was #42 JR Cepeda’s good luck as he now took over out front and easily cruised the last couple of laps to the heat one win. Early leader Wenden on a flat tire took fifth in the heat. #3 Jacob Einloth was second on his Yamaha with #98 Marshal Vawter also aboard a Yamaha taking third in the first of two heats.
In heat two Wenden after repairing the flat tire he had received in heat one once again took the early lead off the start earning the Shell V-Power Holeshot Award. Wenden poured on the horse power and led the second heat from wire to wire to take the heat two win. JR Cepeda cruised unchallenged to take second in the heat with #3 Jacob Einloth on a Yamaha in third with Vawter’s in tow in fourth.
Overall it was Cepeda with the win who had also clinched the Open Motorcycle class championship aboard his #42 Johnstone Supplies supported Cycles Plus Kawasaki taking the final round of the twelve round Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championship. Overall #3 Jacob Einloth took second in the final round and a third in the series championships with Tim Wenden placing third overall in the round and seventh in the series standings.

Other Results

First year 85cc class racer #12 Stoney Bucek finished second overall in both the Kids Open and 85cc overall series standings on the Cycles Plus Kawasaki. (courtesy photo)

In the 450cc Motorcycle class #31 Tim Wenden took first on his Honda sweeping the round over second place finisher #717 William Dunn aboard a Yamaha. Taking third was 450cc champion #19 Zachary Chang aboard a Honda. Taking fourth was #927 Paul Castro on a Yamaha Yzf305 who had just moved up from the mini bike class. Zachary Chang through persistent if not consistent racing during the entire championship series has clinched the 450cc class championship aboard his #19 Honda two stroke.

In the 250cc Motorcycle class #42 Jr Cepeda took the win on the #42 Johnstone Supplies supported Cycles Plus Kawasaki. #3 Jacob Einloth aboard a Yamaha took another strong second. Taking third for the round was #98 Marshal Vawter on a Yamaha.

Open Atv class saw #1 Robert Bucek aboard a Cycles Plus Suzuki take the heat one win to clinch the Open Atv Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championship title but it was the #9 machine of Ramon Torres taking the overall round win by placing second in heat one and taking first in heat two. The Suzuki mounted Ramon Torres placed third in the series final standings. #43 Andy Painter also aboard a Suzuki took second in the final round and finished second in the final championship series standings. Taking third for the round was #5 Marcus Guerrero who finishes fourth in the series championship standings.

In the Kids Open Minibike class Andrew Ignacio took his #14 Yamaha Yz85 to the win with #13 Deven Manibusan on a Suzuki in second. #71 Mathew Sandlin on a Kawasaki was third and #12 Stoney Bucek on the Cycles Plus Kawasaki placed fourth.#70 Edward Sandlin on a Yamaha rounded out the top five. After twelve grueling rounds Andrew Ignacio has clinched the Kids Open and 85cc Minibike class championships. Stoney Bucek took second and Deven Manibusan placed third in the final series championship standings.

In the 65cc Kids Minibike class #8 Ry’niko Camacho on a Kawasaki edged out his brother #88 Ethan Camacho also racing a Kawasaki for the win. Ethan however beat out his brother to take the 65cc Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championship.

In the Kids Open Mini Atv class #6 Collin Ray Cruz took his Drx90 machine to the round twelve win with  #17 Austin Ojeda on a Drx70 taking second and #5 Janissa Torres placing third. Janissa Torres aboard the Torres Racing Team supported Apex was able to lock up the Kids Open Mini Atv class championship .

Kids 90cc Mini Atv class had #6 Collin Ray Cruz on a Drx taking the win with #5 Janissa Torres taking second. Janissa Torres took the Torres Racing Team backed Apex 90 to the 90cc Kids Mini Atv series championship. Taking third in round was #9 Vincent Woodrome aboard a Drx90.

Kids 70cc Mini Atv class saw #17 Austin Ojeda aboard a Drx70 take his second race and round win this past Sunday with #13 the current points leader Bernabe Guerrero placing second on his GTR Motorsports Bobcat Guam supported Drx.

Up next on the schedule for Guam’s motorcycle and atv riders and racers will be the Monster Energy Monsoon Offroad Series. The series kicks off on Sunday September 23rd. Gates open at 9am with racing scheduled to start at 1pm. For more information visit or call Bob at 727-5381. Special thanks to RPM Yamaha, Cycles Plus, Kawasaki, Honda, Suzuki, GTR Motorsports, Bobcat Guam, Pine Rental Sevices, Hawaiian Rock Product, Smithbridge International, Shell V-Power and the Guam International Raceway.

[fbshare url=”″ type=”button”][fblike url=”″ style=”standard” showfaces=”false” width=”450″ verb=”like” font=”arial”]

Share this article: