📅02 March 2015
Share this article:

Press Release – Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation (GIRMAC)
2015 Monster Energy Fiesta Series Rd2
Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day Motocross

This past Sunday, Guam’s motocross racers who normally race up north at the Guam International Raceway, made what has become their annual pilgrimage south for round 2 of the 2015 Monster Energy Fiesta Series. The course for round 2 was located in the beautiful southern village of Umatac just a stone’s throw away from this year’s Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day carnival celebrations next to the Umatac Mayors office and the gorgeous Umatac Bay.

Racers and fans were located all along the Umatac Bridge and around the adjoining carabao field where a course had been built for motocross racing.

Racers and fans enjoyed a perfect day of sunshine, cool breezes, and wild bar banging motocross that started at 1pm and ended at 5pm. Fan’s seemed to really enjoy that this year’s motocross along with being very exciting was also being watered by a Smithbridge water tanker to keep the dust away.

The fun for many didn’t start or end with the races as in the morning motorcycle and atv instructors from Cycles Plus had a Learn to Ride program where several young future enthusiasts and their parents signed up to participate. Cycles Plus provided everything needed such as helmets and easy to ride motorcycle and atv’s. After the races the racers many still geared up in motocross apparel took advantage of the carnival concessions and what was yet another memorable Umatac Bay island sunset.

#76 Deven Encina takes the 65cc minibike lead over #31 Robert Encina and #50 Owen Turo Sunday in Umatac.

#76 Deven Encina takes the 65cc minibike lead over #31 Robert Encina and #50 Owen Turo Sunday in Umatac.

Open Motorcycle

After several hard fought qualifying heats a field of eighteen Open Motorcycle class contenders was set for their 20 lap main event. Taking the lead early was #18 John Aguon aboard a Yamaha with a pair of Kawasaki riders #8 Kim Aiken and #5 Shawn Aguilo who were hot on his rear wheel running second and third. The lead trio were fast but even faster yet and coming from the back of the pack after suffering a bad start was #1 JR Cepeda on a Cycles Plus Kawasaki.

The Cycles Plus rider was not holding anything back as he knifed and jumped his way into the second place position and put his sights on the #18 of Aguon who was still in the lead. Aguon who had seen over his shoulder that Cepeda was coming up fast turned it up a couple of notches and held Cepeda off for several amazing laps. Cepeda eventually blasted past Aguon to take the lead. At the finish it was Cepeda first, Aguon second, and Kim Aiken in third.

In the Open Atv class #83 Daniel Champion on a Suzuki was able to take the overall win over the reigning Open Atv champ #1 Robert Bucek aboard the Cycles Plus Suzuki Bucek who placed second. Taking third was #11 John Gilman aboard a Yamaha.

In the Open Minibike class #8 Ry’niko Camacho on a Yamaha swept both heats to take the win over #12 Yuna Song on her Honda and #11 Blaze Aiken also on a Honda. In the 65cc class #76 Deven Encina aboard a Phillips and Sons supported Kawasaki took the win over his cousin #31 Robert Encina who was also aboard a Phillips and Sons supported Kawasaki. Taking third was #50 Owen Turo on his Kawasaki. In the 50cc Minibike class #31 Richard Wenden took the win over Mariana Wenden and Thomas King who placed second and third respectively.

#6 Wyatt Santos took the Kids Mini Atv win Sunday at the Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day motocross Umatac.

#6 Wyatt Santos took the Kids Mini Atv win Sunday at the Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day motocross Umatac.

Up next for Guam’s motocross racers and fans will be the final motocross in the village of Umatac for 2015 this coming Sunday March 8th next to the Umatac Bridge as part of the Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day celebrations. Cycles Plus will also be back with their Learn to Ride program.

Those interested in signing up should contact Dennis Quinones at Cycles Plus. Special thanks to Rocky Mountain Precast, Encina Trucking, promoter Jeff Rios, track builder Kim “the Rocker” Aiken, Gene Morrison, DPW, Umatac Mayor Johnny Quinata and the staff for their support in preparing the race course! Also thank you to all the people of Umatac and to all the 2015 Fiesta Motocross sponsors- Monster Energy, Cycles Plus Kawasaki, Guam Home Center, Phillips and Sons, Pacific Trucking Guam, Flamingo, TPI, Cycles Plus Honda, Smithbridge and Haw’n Rock Products, and to all the fanatical gung ho motocross racers of all ages that make up GIRMAC.

Complete Results

Open Motorcycle
#1 JR Cepeda Kawasaki 50pts
#76 John Aguon Yamaha 44pts
#57 Kim Aiken Honda 40pts
#75 Jeff Rios Yamaha 36pts
#4 Nolan Minor Yamaha 32pts
#89 Bobby Benson Honda 30pts
#768 James Gallagher Yamaha 28pts
#8 Shawn Aguilo Kawasaki 26pts
#30 Deven Manibusan Kawasaki 24pts
#100 Steve Turo Kawasaki 22pts
#15 Ethan Manibusan Honda 20pts
#318 Rudy King Yamaha 18pts
#15 Matt Guzman Honda 16pts
#38 Jesse Pangelinan Yamaha 14pts
#83 Ceasar Whitt Yamaha 12pts
#28 Brad Gomez Kawasaki 10pts
#19 Zachary Chang Honda 8pts
#332 Zadrian Tallada Yamaha 6pts

450cc Motorcycle
#76 John Aguon Yamaha 50pts
#75 Jeff Rios Yamaha 44pts
#768 James Gallagher Yamaha 40pts
#15 Matt Guzman Honda 36pts
#38 Jesse Pangelinan Yamha 32pts
#19 Zachary Chang Honda 30pts
#332 Zadrian Tallada Yamaha 28pts

250cc Motorcycle
#1 JR Cepeda Kawasaki 50pts
#8 Kim Aiken Kawasaki 44pts
#4 Nolan Minor Yamaha 40pts
#89 Bobby Benson Honda 36pts
#8 Shawn Aguilo Kawasaki 34pts
#47 Deven Manibusan Kawasaki 32pts
#100 Steve Turo Kawasaki 30pts
#30 Ethan Manibusan Kawasaki 28pts
#318 Rudy King Yamaha 26pts
#83 Ceasar Whitt Yamaha 24pts
#28 Brad Gomez Kawasaki 22pts

Vet Over 40 Motorcycle
#57 Kim Aiken Kawasaki 50pts
#75 Jeff Rios Yamaha 44pts
#768 James Gallagher Yamaha 40pts
#100 Steve Turo Kawasaki 36pts
#38 Jesse Pangelinan Yamaha 32pts
#83 Ceasar Whitt Yamaha 30pts

Open Atv
#83 Daniel Champion 47pts
#1 Robert Bucek Suzuki 47pts
#11 John Gilman Yamaha 40pts
#15 Albert Garlitt Kawasaki 34pts
#5 Jason Faculo Honda 34pts
#6 Noel 30pts

Open Minibike
#8 Ryniko Camacho Yamaha 50pts
#12 Yuna Song Honda 40pts
#111 Blaze Aiken Honda 35pts
#5 Jordan Leon Guerrero Kawasaki 34pts
#2 Stoney Bucek Kawasaki 33pts
#25 Ethan Turo Kawasaki 32pts
#34 Caleb Encina Kawasaki 27pts
#75 Owen Rios Kawasaki 22pts
#21 Tobin Perez Kawasaki 12pts

150cc Minibike
#12 Yuna Song Honda 47pts
#111 Blaze Aiken Honda 45pts
#25 Ethan Turo Kawasaki 42pts

85cc Minibike
#8 Ryniko Camacho Yamaha 50pts
#5 Jordan Leon Guerrero Kawasaki 40pts
#2 Stoney Bucek Kawasaki 40pts
#34 Caleb Encina Kawasaki 34pts
#75 Owen Rios Kawasaki 22pts
#21 Tobin Perez Kawasaki 15pts

65cc Minibike
#76 Deven Encina Kawasaki 50pts
#31 Robert Encina Kawasaki 44pts
#50 Owen Turo Kawasaki 40pts
#22 Casey Gallagher Kawasaki 36pts
#7 Averi Kawasaki 32pts
#20 Gavin Whitt Kawasaki 30pts

50cc Minibike
#31 Richard Wenden Yamaha 47pts
Mariana Wenden Yamaha 40pts
Thomas King Yamaha 25pts
Trent King Yamaha 22pts

Kids Mini Atv
#6 Wyatt Santos Drx 47pts
#4 Valance Yamaha 47pts
#18 Shaun Yamaha 20pts

Share this article: