📅06 March 2017
Share this article:

PRESS RELEASE – Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation (GIRMAC)
2017 Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day Motocross
In conjunction with round 4 of the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships

This past Sunday for the second time this year our islands motocross enthusiasts converged on the sleepy southern village of Umatac for the 2017 Guam History and Chamorro Heritage Day Motocross which was being run in conjunction with round 4 of the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships. A large contingent of both two and four wheeled participants were on hand for this special annual event turning a sleepy village into a wide eyed bar banging in the dirt racing celebration.

With gorgeous sunny conditions and a course located alongside a slow flowing clear watered river and right next to the scenic Umatac bridge every fan and racer could not help but enjoy a full day of southern island style racing. The day ended with a trophy presentation for all the top class finishers at the main stage located smack in the middle of a carnival with live music, games, food vendors and in full view of yet another beautiful Umatac bay sunset.

Highlights and results

Open Motorcycle qualifiers

With so many participants turning out for the event two qualifier heats along with a last chance qualifier was implemented for the event. Top qualifiers from heat 1 were #711 Nic Yasuhiro, #31 Tim Weneden, #51 Frank Reeses and #1 JR Cepeda. All four riders moved directly to the A main. In qualifier heat 2 it was #18 Little John Aguon, Umatacs own #389 Shane Morrison, #55 Carlo Pangelinan and #44 Nolan Minor moving directly to the A main. In the Last Chance Qualifier which only moves the top two finishers into the A main it was #57 Kim Aiken and #75 Jeff Rios. Everyone else was regulated to the losers or B main.

Open Motorcycle A Main

In the 20 lap A main #31 Tim Wenden aboard a Rocky Mountain Precast supported KTM took the lead off the start. Wenden was followed by #18 Lil John Aguon aboard his Yamaha, #711 Nic Yasuhiro, and with #389 Shane Morrison and the #1 of JR Cepeda. Wenden was able by mid race to put some distance on what by this time had developed into a heated three way fight for position between Cepeda, Aguon, and Yasuhiro. At the checkers it was a dominating performance by the #31 Tim Wenden taking the A main win. In second was Little John Aguon with Yasuhiro in third. Rounding out the top ten respectively were #1 JR Cepeda, #389 Morrison, #57 Jeff Rios, #51 Frank Reeses, #57 Kim Aiken, and #44 Nolan Minor.

Open Motorcycle B Main

In the 15 lap B main #86 Mike Uribe took the win over #11x Stan Yasuhiro in second and #56 John Aguon sr in third. Rounding out the top five respectively was #47 Geoffrey Perez and #12 Ethan Manibusan.

#76 Deven Encina pivots enroute to the 85cc class win in Umatac Sunday.

In other results

In Open Atv class action reigning and multi Open Atv champion #4 Robert Bucek took the win aboard the Cycles Plus Suzuki 450 Quadracer with Matt Taimanglo in second aboard his #7 plated Yamaha. Third went to #15 Albert Garlit on his very quick Kawasaki 450. Rounding out the rest of the six rider field respectively were #11 John Gilman, #12 Berlene Taitano and #22 Rosie T. Castro.

In the Open Motorcycle Novice class a field of seven rookies took to the Umatac course with #814 Billy Davis taking first and with #21 Sade Pitter in second the rest of the field finished as follows in
3rd #326 Jacob Rizk
4th #94 Jessthan Pano
5th #24 Jonathan Aguon
6th #112 Yuna Song
7th #901 Robert Terrel
In the School boy class #94 Jessthan Pano took the win over #112 Yuna Song.

In the Over 40 Vet class #51 Frank Reeses grabbed first while #57 Kim Aiken took a second place. Finishing in third was #75 Jeff Rios with #56 John Aguon sr. in fourth and #25 Larry Limtiaco in fifth. Rounding out the rest of the field of vets was #11x Stan Yasuhiro, #83 Ceasar Whitt and #47 Geoffrey Perez.

In the 150cc Minibike class #75 Owen Rios took the win aboard his Cycles Plus supported Honda. Taking second was Honda mounted #30 Sasha Song with #11 Blaze Aiken in third and #45 Tobin Perez placing fourth.

In the 85cc Minibike class #76 Deven Encina took the win over #101 Arthur Manglona and #25 Laurence Limtiaco who took second and third respectively. Rounding out the top five was #74 Damian Manibusan in fourth and #33 Ethan Blyth in fifth.

The 65cc Kids Minibike class saw #22 Wyett Ken Santos in first, #44 Valance Minor in second and #25 Laurence Limtiaco in third. Rounding out the rest of the ield respectively were #52 Dakota Conception #222 Kenneth Tedtaotao #31 Richard Wenden and #33 Mariana Wenden.

In the 50cc Kids Minibike class #39 Iziah Green dominated to take the win with #18 John Aguon in second, #10 Jerisha Guzman in third and #20 Jace Calvo in fourth.

In the Kids Mini atv class #2 Wyett Ken Santos took the win with #71 Valance Minor in second and #88 Eden Del Rodario in third. Fourth place went to #22 Karter John with #7 Mia Taimanglo in fifth and #222 Jordan Chargualaf sixth.

Special thanks to Honorable Johnny A. Quinata, Mayor of Umatac,
Guam History & Chamorro Heritage Day Festival Committee,
The Umatac Mayor Office Staff for the hospitality
The People of Umatac, SmithBridge, Monster Energy Johnny Cool’s Towing, Pacific Trucking, GIRMAC MEMBERS and all the gracious hospitality from the people Umatac.

Next up on the schedule for motocross racing will be round 5 of the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships. The event will be held at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo on March Sunday 19th. Races start just before lunch and everyone is invited to come watch the event. For more information on the championship please visit or cal PIO Robert Bucek at 727-5381.

Wyett Santos took the Kids Mini Atv class win Sunday in Umatac.

Share this article: