📅21 September 2015
Share this article:

Press Release – Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation (GIRMAC)

Monster Energy 2015 Guam Motocross Championships

Round 10

The Guam International Raceway this past Sunday saw a large contingent of mudslinging two and four wheeled racers at round 10 of the Monster Energy 2015 Guam Motocross Championships. With heavy nonstop rain the hearty participants and fans out at the Guam International Raceway put on and were witness to some of the most challenging course conditions yet this year. Classes ranged from 50cc kids minibikes up to the full sized 450 monsters of the Open Atv and Motorcycles classes. Racing kicked off at just about noon and went on until all the classes had seen their time on the course.

Race Highlights

In the Open Motorcycle class multi time reigning Guam champion #1 JR Cepeda aboard the Cycles Plus Kawasaki had some heavy competition in the tough and wet course conditions. #277 Mike Shaffer aboard his Honda was up and challenging putting Cepeda on notice that he was dialed in to the extreme conditions.

The two had a heated battle as their machines navigated the course looking more like watercrafts out on Hagatna Bay as they rooster tailed buckets of water. At the finish Cepeda took the win over the quick in the muck Shaffer who took second. Third went to hard charging Honda mounted #89 Bobby Benson. The rest of the field finished as follows:

4th #75 Jeff Rios Yamaha
5th #18 John Aguon Yamaha
6th #29 Brady Kruize Suzuki
7th #111 Vince Meddler Kawasaki
8th #17 Franklin Perez Kawasaki
9th #94 Deven Manibusan
10th #100 Steve Turo Kawasaki
11th #12 Ethan Manibusan
12th #19 Zachary Chang Honda

In the Open Atv class #83 Daniel Champion aboard a borrowed Honda muscled the machine into the lead to take that class win. Yamaha mounted #7 Matt Taimanglo took second with #11 also on Yamaha taking third place.

In the Kids Open Minibike class the rookie sensation #94 Jessthan Pano on a Kawasaki took his first overall win while riding smooth and consistently in the flooded course conditions. Taking second was #25 Ethan Turo aboard his Kawasaki with Sasha Song on a Honda placing third. Rounding out the rest of the Open Minibike class were as follows

4th #12 Yuna Song Honda
5th #11 Blaze Aiken Honda
6th #75 Owen Rios Kawasaki
7th #4 Tobin Perez Kawasaki
8th #100 Kein Artero Honda
9th #23 Jordan Leon Guerrero Kawasaki
10th #111 Lucious Meddler Kawasaki
11th #7 Darian Chang Kawasaki

In the 65cc minibike class #76 Deven Encina on the Phillips and Sons supported KTM took the win with the #50 of Owen Turo on a Kawasaki taking second. Third went to the hard charging #25 Laurence Limtiaco on a Kawasaki. #31 Richard Wenden placed fourth.

The youngest riders on the smallest machines the 50cc Minibike class saw an all girls turn out on the podium with #12 Jessani Leon Guerrero taking the win.

#11 Ellie Maume took second with Regina Aguon finishing in third.

#89 Bobby Benson was charging and took a 3rd overall and a first in the 450 class. (courtesy photo)

#89 Bobby Benson was charging and took a 3rd overall and a first in the 450 class. (courtesy photo)

450cc Motorcycle

#89 Bobby Benson Honda 50pts
#75 Jeff Rios Yamaha 44pts
#18 John Aguon Yamaha 40pts
#111 Vince Meddler Kawasaki 36pts
#19 Zachary Chang Honda 32pts

250cc Motorcycle

#1 JR Cepeda Kawasaki 50pts
#277 Mike Shaffer Honda 44pts
#29 Brady Kruize Suzuki 40pts
#47 Franklin Perez Kawasaki 36pts
#94 Deven Manibusan 32pts
#100 Steve Turo Kawasaki 30pts
#12 Ethan Manibusan 28pts

Vet Over 40 Motorcycle

#75 Jeff Rios Yamaha 50pts
#111 Vince Meddler Kawasaki 44pts
#100 Steve Turo Kawasaki 40pts

150cc Minibike

#25 Ethan Turo Kawasaki 50pts
#1 Sasha Song Honda 44pts
#12 Yuna Song Honda 40pts
#11 Blaze Aiken Honda 36pts
#111 Kein Artero Honda 32pts

85cc Minibike

#94 Jessthan Pano Kawasaki 50pts
#75 Owen Rios Kawasaki 44pts
#4 Tobin Perez Kawasaki 40pts
#23 Jordan Leon Guerrero Kawasaki 36pts
#111 Lucious Meddler Kawasaki 32pts
#7 Darian Chang Kawasaki 30pts

Round 11 of the Monster Energy 2015 Guam Motocross Championships will be held on Sunday September 27th at the Guam International Raceway. Gates open at 9am with racing set to begin at 11 30am. For more information visit or contact by e-mail at

After a hard round of racing some kids  hit the pool to cool off. (courtesy photo)

After a hard round of racing some kids hit the pool to cool off. (courtesy photo)

Share this article: