📅26 March 2018
Share this article:

PRESS RELEASE – The Lady Crushers’ second-half heroics against Guam Shipyard secured a third-straight Bud Light Women’s Soccer League Premier Division (W1) championship for the undefeated team Sunday evening at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

The Lady Crushers outscored Guam Shipyard 4-0 in the second half for the final 5-1 score in a highly anticipated match watched by hundreds of fans at GFA.

With the score knotted at 1-all to begin the second half, the Lady Crushers’ Samantha Fegurgur scored the eventual game winner in the 51st minute, taking a shot from the top of the box as Guam Shipyard was attempting to clear the ball away from a corner kick play.

Brianne Leon Guerrero was awarded the league’s Golden Boot.

Skyylerblu Johnson later completed a hat trick in under 20 minutes, first finishing a cross from Colleen Naden in the 69th minute, finishing a through ball from Anjelica Perez in the 76th minute, and timing her run perfectly to finish a through pass from April Talledo in the 86th minute for the final score.

Guam Shipyard had the early lead in the match, with a goal from Olivia Elliott in less than a minute from the opening whistle. The Lady Crushers later managed to level the match on a Perez penalty kick in the 24th minute after drawing a foul in the box.

The full match can be viewed on GFA’s Internet TV Channel:

In the evening’s consolation match, Quality Distributors defeated the NAPA Lady
Rovers 3-0 to claim third place in the league. Jalana Garcia, Paige Surber, and Zoe Surber scored once each in the victory.

The full match can be view on GFA’s Internet TV Channel:

Following the championship match, Ambros representatives Ho Son and Jesse Camacho presented the Lady Crushers with the the Champions trophy and gold medals. Son and Camacho also presented the second-place trophy and silver medals to Guam Shipyard.

Also recognized in the awards ceremony were Lady Crushers goalkeeper Aeryn Anulao, the league’s Golden Glove Award winner, and Brianne Leon Guerrero, the league’s Golden Boot Award winner.


Share this article: